Powys sports stars honoured at annual awards

By Emma Evans in Other Sports

GOOD sports from across Brecon and Radnor have been recognised for the valuable contribution they play in Powys communities.

Run by the Brecknock and Radnor Sports Partnership (BRSP), the annual awards showcase the sporting groups and individuals’ successes year-on-year.

Among the winners of the night was paralympic table tennis champion Rob Davies, who scooped the Outstanding Achievement Award. The 32-year-old from Brecon took up the sport after a rugby injury left him paralysed from the waist down. Since 2007 he has been a force to be reckoned with, taking gold at the Rio Olympics and more recently an MBE.

More than 35 sports club and individuals were shortlisted for the 12 categories available. Run by Powys Council and BRSP, this year’s ceremony marked the partnership’s 20 anniversary.

Chair of BRSP Richard Jones said the response for nominations was excellent with more than 70 entries being received.

"This is a testimony to the strength and breadth of sport, talent and support in Brecknock and Radnor," he said. "May I congratulate all the nominees, as well as their families, coaches and everyone that has played a part in their development and long may it continue."

Cllr Graham Brown, Powys County Council’s Cabinet Member for Sports Development, said: "These awards are a celebration of local sporting achievement and an opportunity to recognise the invaluable contribution of local volunteers and coaches. I would like to congratulate all those who have been shortlisted."

Winners were:

Senior Sports Personality of the Year

Jess Sims (Bowls)

Senior Disabled Sports Personality

Morgan Jones (Athletics)

Young Sportsperson 14-18 years

George Thomas (Athletics)

Young Disabled Sportsperson

Ethan Orton, Ysgol Penmaes (Badminton)

Junior Sportsperson Under 14

Aelwen Davies (Cycling)

Senior Sports Team

Weale Brothers

Junior Sports Team

Brecon High School Girls Year 8 Badminton Team.

Club of the Year

Brecon Cricket Club

Young Sports Leader

Ieuan Phillips, Gwernyfed High School.

Coach of the Year

Jane Price, Disability Sports Coach

Sports Volunteer of the Year

Maggie Walby, Llandrindod Just Move

Contribution to PE and School Sport

Sharon Marshall (Cradoc Primary School, Brecon Swimming Club)