Crickhowell celebrate most successful ever season with huge win

By Brecon and Radnor Reporter in Rugby

Rhayader 5 Crickhowell 50

CRICKHOWELL ended their most successful ever season with another convincing win, this time beating Rhayader by 5-50. Crickhowell’s top try-scorer this season Harry Purvis scored early on near the posts with Leon Rees converting.

Next Harry Summers carried the ball way up into the Rhayader half and following a penalty for offside it was 2nd row Danny Davies who marked his return to the side with the second try. It was the turn of scrum-half Lewys Cooke to score next when he took a quick penalty and bamboozled his opponents to go in under the posts with Rees again converting.

The bonus point was secured by Danny Davies’ second with a good old-fashioned pushover try with Rees completing a hat-trick of conversions.

The visitors let their guard slip shortly afterwards when good interplay between the Rhayader backs saw their winger weave through to score the home team’s only try of the game with the conversion attempt unluckily hitting the upright. The half ended 5-31 following another of Purvis’s elusive runs bagging him his second try of the game and fifteenth of the season.

After the break play swung back and for and it took about twenty minutes before Harry Summers crossed for a try in the corner which Davies converted.

Crick’s seventh came when Jamie Hunter took advantage of confusion amongst the Rhayader pack following a kick ahead to burst through and score.

Crick’s final try came from the talented Matt Botting who dodged and powered his way to the line with Davies adding the final conversion.

In the evening, the club’s Presentation Night was held in the marquee of the Dragon Inn, Crickhowell. the evening started with the presentation of the League Champions Cup and the winners board. After the meal, special thanks went to Brenda James and Sue Vaughan for their work and fundraising efforts. The chairman’s award went to Tracey Birch, Most Improved Player was Connor Stephens, Forward of the Year was shared jointly by Jake Powell-Thomas and Andy Nicholls. Back of the Year was Harry Purvis, the ouchliners award went to Danny Davies and Young Player of the Year was Tom Keane. Clubman of the Year was Steve Carrington, Player’s Player was Ryan James and Player of the Year was Matt Botting, who will also captain the side next season. Praise went to all who helped, both on the field and off, to make the season a resounding success.

Statistically, Crickhowell are one of the most successful teams in all the Welsh leagues this season - one of only six undefeated teams, only six teams scored more tries than Crick’s 125 and their overall points tally of 793 puts them in the top ten.

All involved should be very proud.