Llanwrtyd Eisteddfod was held at the Victoria Hall, Llanwrtyd on Saturday, September 24, writes Elin Mabbutt.

There was a pleasing number of competitors in all sessions and a high standard maintained throughout the day.

Llanwrtyd Eisteddfod
Left is Michelle Davies with Noa Rhys Price and right is Tegwen Bruce-Deans (.)

Again, this year a chairing ceremony was held during the evening session and the chaired bard was Tegwen Bruce-Deans from Bangor but originally from Llandrindod. Tegwen was born in Lewisham, London but grew up in Llandrindod since the age of two. She attended Cylch Meithin Llandrindod and Trefonnen Primary School before going on to Builth Wells High School/Ysgol Calon Cymru where she studied Welsh, Art, French and Geography. Tegwen graduated from Bangor University with a Welsh degree and now works as a researcher for BBC Radio Cymru.

The task of literary adjudicator was undertaken by the Prifardd Aneirin Karadog and the music adjudicator was Delyth Medi from Cardiff. Mrs Angela Amor of Llanwrtyd was the art adjudicator.

The accompanist for the morning session was Heather Davis, Beulah and during the afternoon and evening sessions, the accompanist was Jonathan Morgan.

The president for the afternoon session was the Rev Anna Bessant from Brecon and local MP Fay Jones, was the evening president. Both presidents congratulated the committee members for their hard work and persistence in organising this annual event thus ensuring that some of our old and best traditions are passed on to future generations.

Conductors were Gill Lloyd, Michelle Davies and Steve Mason.

Stewards at this years’s Eisteddfod were Iwan Price, John Davies, Anwen Price, Antoinette de Kleijn, Elin, Ioan, Elan and Alis Mabbutt.

Hywel Davies is Chairman and Treasurer of the Eisteddfod Committee and Susan Price is the Correspondence Secretary.

A mid-day lunch for the adjudicators was kindly provided by the James family at the Drovers Rest with refreshments provided in the hall by Delyth Jones and Sarah Jones.

Towards the end of the Eisteddfod the Chairman, Hywel Davies, thanked everyone who had contributed in any way towards the success of the event.

The cup given by Dr Delyth Hurley, Cardiff, for the most outstanding competitor of the morning session was won by Cerys Jones.

The cup given by Charcroft Electronics Ltd for the most outstanding competitor of the afternoon session was won by Ffion Thomas from Llandrindod.

In very strong competitions, Jennifer Drew-Parry from Brecon won the Champion Solo and Welsh Solo.

Jane Altham-Watkins from Swansea won the Champion Recitation with Ioan Joshua Mabbutt winning the Song from a Musical.

Builth Ladies Choir, once again supporting this local eisteddfod, won the Choir Competition with their conductor, Ionwen Davies, being presented with the baton for the best conductor. The baton was donated by Mrs Lesley Keates in memory of her husband, John, formerly of Hampstead, Llanwrtyd.