During 2020 and 2021 Trallong Eisteddfod was held virtually, but this year returned to the stage and was a great success.

Seven excellent soloists battled it out for the Champion Solo prize – the eventual winner being Efan Williams from Llanrhystud who has supported the Eisteddfod for many years.

Adjudicators for the competition were Miss Rhiannon Lewis, Mrs Elin Williams, both of Cwmann, and Mrs Mairwen Edwards of Trecastle. All three did an excellent job, passing encouraging and constructive suggestions for future performances and artwork.

The Presidents for the day were Miss Fay Jones and Mr Roy Parry of Brecon - both gave interesting addresses with much food for thought.

The very talented accompanists this year were Mrs Bethan Thomas of Crossgates and Miss Sian Davies of Bridgend - both were faced with challenging copies to play at first sight.

The conductors were Mrs Elaine Pye of Trallong, Mr Marc Williams of Sennybridge and Mr Dyfed Watkins of Trecastle - they all did an excellent job to keep the Eisteddfod running smoothly.

The highlight of the afternoon was the Choral Singing party from Sennybridge Primary School, trained by Louise Walker and supported by Mae Davies. They received the new Perpetual Cup given in her memory by the family of the late Mrs Gwyneth Williams, who did so much to train many individuals and parties to compete at this and other Eisteddfodau in the area. It is encouraging to see that Gwyneth’s granddaughter Louise is following in her footsteps.

The Mrs Mary Price trophy for the competitor showing the most potential in the local classes was won again by Annest Jones of Brychgoed. She was also awarded the Mr Alec Tompkins Perpetual Miniature Chair for the competitor showing the most potential in the open classes.

The cup given by Mr and Mrs Alec Tompkins for the instrumental solo under 12 years was awarded to Ffion Thomas of Crossgates.

Trallong Eisteddfod
Ffion Thomas of Crossgates pictured with Mrs Tompkins (Trallong Eisteddfod)

The Mrs Margaret Rees Perpetual Shield for the instrumental solo 12 years and under was won by Lea Meredid Roberts, who had travelled all the way down from Pwllheli to take part in the Eisteddfod.

The champion solo 18 to 30 years Perpetual Cup, given by the family of the late Mrs Hyral Thomas in her memory, was won by Carwyn Wolmsley of Brecon.

Sophie Jones of Aberbran won the Mrs Helena Jones Perpetual cup, given by the family in her memory for the champion recitation 18 to 30 years.

Aberhonddu Male Voice Choir took the choir prize, taking home the Mrs Glenys Moses Perpetual Shield.

Other prize winners during the day included Eiry Price, Ifan Morris (Llandysul), Elan Mabbutt (Aberystwyth), Owain Evans-Taylor, Eds Edwards (Llandrindod), David Maybury (Maesteg), Stephanie Harvey-Powell (Penderyn), Angharad Jones, Dyfed Watkins, Emyr Evans (Bancffosfelin), Gerwyn Rhys (Porthyrhyd), Elin and Ffion Havard, Jennifer Drew-Parry (Brecon), John Davies (Llandybie), Maria Evans (Alltwallis) and Sian Norgate.

Winners in the Junior Art and Literature classes included Carys Lewis (Sennybridge), Ffion Thomas, (Crossgates) together with several individual pupils from Ysgol Y Mynydd Du in Talgarth.

Winners of the Senior Literature classes included John Edwards (Brecon), Mary Morgan (Llanrhystud), Carys Briddon (Ceredigion), Alan Iwi (Didcot), Gaenor Jones (Pontypridd), Lindy Morgan (Builth Wells), Heulwen Parry (Brecon), Alaw, Annette Thomas (Brecon), Lorraine Voss (Llanwrtyd), Margaret Blake (Brecon) and Sophie Jones (Aberbran).

In her vote of thanks, the chairman of the Eisteddfod Committee, Mrs Marilyn Jones, mentioned Eirlys and Liz in the kitchen, Angharad, Rhianwen and Gethin who acted as doorkeepers, and the competitors, trainers, and the audience for their support again this year.

She also thanked Maescar Community Hall for allowing them to host the Eisteddfod for the first time at the venue.