Brecon and Radnorshire could face a shakeup in the next general election, as Westminster seats are set to change. Plans are in place to cut the number of MPs in Wales from 40 to 32.

It comes after The Boundary Commission for Wales confirmed the shape of Westminster constituencies in time for the next general election.

Brecon, Radnor and Cwm-tawe constituency
The Brecon, Radnor and Cwm-tawe constituency (Crown copyright and database rights - 22)

Under the new plans, seats in Brecon and Radnorshire are now proposed to include parts of the Neath constituency. Pontardawe and Ystalyfera in the Swansea Valley have been included as part of the proposed constituency. It would mean that the new seat will be called Brecon, Radnor and Cwm-Tawe. The proposed plans were presented in their final format on Wednesday.

It may swing in favour for Liberal Democrats. Cwm-Tawe includes places that may swing more towards the Conservatives. Pontardawe is a Labour-Plaid area and could result in tactical voting.

Local reactions have been less than favourable. Sioned Williams, MS for South Wales West, tweeted: "Lumping the post-industrial valley communities of Cwm Tawe with the distant rural areas of Brecon and Radnor makes absolutely no sense geographically or culturally."

Meanwhile, another person has said that it is 'impossible to please everyone' when it comes to the changes.

The commission says it considered several factors in developing its proposals, as well as the statutory range of electors.

Geography - such as lakes, rivers, and mountains - was an important consideration, as were current boundaries such as local authority and ward boundaries. The commission also considered local ties, such as shared history and culture as it developed its initial proposals.

It followed a long consultation and will come into effect at the next general election, which is expected in 2024.