THE ladies championship took place at Cradoc last weekend.

The competition is played over 36 holes over two days, playing the first round on Thursday and then the final round on Saturday. The weather was mainly fine for most of Thursday although the afternoon starters had a few dispersed showers.

Saturday was a fine day and with all the players starting at the same time they all played in the same conditions.

Sarah Parker had the best of the first rounds and took a good lead into the second round and although Jill Evans rallied to put the pressure on, Sarah held her nerve to take the title for the third time meaning Jill will have to wait another year to claim her twelve title.

Sarah also claimed the Lapthorn Silver Salver with the best Nett over the two days and Mags Jones claimed the 36 hole Nett Competition with a total of Nett 147 after playing very steadily over the two days.

Results:- Club Champion - Sarah Parker 82 + 89 = 171; Runner Up - Jill Evans 90 + 86 = 176; Lapthorn Salver Winner - Sarah Parker - Nett 72; 36 Hole Nett - Mags Jones 74 + 73 = 147; first Round Nett - Glenys Williams - Nett 76; second Round Nett - Sue Pryce - Nett 75.

There was a great turnout for the Men’s Open with 160 players from 16 clubs across South Wales attending at Cradoc on Sunday.

The weather was superb with sunshine all day and nothing more than a little breeze to contend with and with the course in superb condition the scores were set to be low.

The overall winner came from one of the early starters who came in with a fine knock, Dane Clancy shot a gross 72 (1 over Par) which with his handicap meant he came in with 42 points, his back nine of 21 points claimed the title from M Edmonds (Pontypridd).

Other notable scores include Craig Samuel (Cradoc) with 40 points, Rod Jones (Monmouthshire) with 38 points and M Edmonds (Pontypridd) with 42 points who all won their individual handicap categories.

Results:- Best Score Overall - Dane Clancy - Cradoc - 42 points; Category 1 (1-8):- First: Craig Samuel - Cradoc - 40 points; Second: Jan Johnthan - Caerphilly - 39 points; Third: B Evans - Mond - 38 points. Category 2 (9-16):- First: Rod Jones - Monmouthshire - 38 points; Second: J Smith - Mond - 37 points; Third: A Protheroe - Cardiff - 37 points. Category 3 (17-24):- First:- M Edmonds - Pontypridd - 42 points; Second: N James - Pontypridd - 37 points; Third: R Lundigran - Caerphilly - 36 points. There were 22 x 2’s each getting 4 Titleist Pro v’s.