Radnor YFC began rally season with the pre-rally competitions, sponsored by Hay and Brecon Farmers, and then the much-anticipated 75th Annual Rally.

The event was held Upper Womaston Farm, Walton, kindly hosted by the Williams Family and sponsored by MJS Energy.

Top table at Radnor YFC Rally
Top table: Elizabeth Swancott (Competitions Chairman), Richard Harris (Rally Site Chairman), Richard Jones (Rally Dance Chairman), David Rogers (County President), Delyth Powell (County Organiser), John James (County Chairman), Ella Harris (County Vice Chairman), Dale Gorman (Main Sponsor), Katryn & Christopher Williams (Hosts) (Ruth Rees Photography)

Pre-rally competitions ran throughout May and included three types of stock judging, Holstein Cattle, Butchers Pigs and Charollais Sheep.

Howey YFC won the West Bromwich Building Society Trophy by one mark, for the club gaining the highest number of points in all pre-rally stock judging competitions.

The pre-rally competition dancing competition was won by Penybont YFC for the second year in a row and Knighton YFC won the promotional sign competition.

More than 400 members from across the county battled it out for their individual clubs on rally day with competitions ranging from shearing and wool handling to flower arranging, cookery, singing and lots of stage competitions.

As rally day dawned, the weather was hot and so was the standard of competition, with full entries in most of the competitions and record numbers of shearers and wool handlers making for a fantastic spectacle in the shearing shed.

Members, supporters, and followers of Radnor YFC enjoyed catching up with friends and looking around at the exceptionally high standard of competition from Radnor YFC members.

Radnor Valley YFC maintained its high standard in the shearing and wool handling competitions, winning the three out of the five trophies up for grabs.

The Radnor Valley YFC team of Philip Price, Rhys Davies and Lauren Morris won the intermediate shearing, junior shearing and the wool handling and Gethin Lewis, Rhayader YFC won the senior shearing and the Ian Jones Perpetual Cup given for the tidiest shearer.

Lois Edwards, Penybont YFC won the Caleb Roberts Shield for the yearbook cover.

Rhian Hughes, Cantal YFC won the Andrew and Janet Abberley Cup for best soloist and the Llanbadarn YFC girls took top spot in the group singing.

Radnor Valley YFC had more success winning the Mrs B I Roderick and Mrs Lawrence Novelty Shield for coming first the main ring display.

Howey YFC gained the most points combined in the cookery and craft section and Ffion and Kaitlyn, Rhayader YFC won the C W Hulin Cup for the scrapbook competition.

Llanbadarn Fynydd took the TO Nicholls Trophy for the Stock Judging on rally day and Dolau and Radnor Valley jointly won the Efficiency Cup for the best kept minute and attendance book.

The tug of war made a welcome comeback to rally day with a large number of entries and a fantastic atmosphere with large crowds gathering to cheer on their clubs, Penybont YFC won the men’s tug of war, Teme Valley the ladies and Aberedw YFC took the junior title.

The top three clubs overall were, in third place were, Penybont YFC, with 2935.5 marks, second place were Rhayader YFC with 3011 marks and the winners of the 75th Annual Rally were the host club Radnor Valley YFC with a score of 3053 marks.

Radnor YFC Rally
Radnor Valley club secretary, Callum Thomas and Club Chairman, Sally Morris with the Perpetual Challenge Shield for gaining the highest total number of points in 40 competitions (Ruth Rees Photography)

Winners from the Radnor YFC Rally will now go forward to represent Radnor at the Wales YFC finals at the Royal Welsh show.

Good luck to all those competing!