Despite being the off-season in the football calendar, there’s plenty going on across Mid Wales with awards, the transfer market, and looking ahead to the new season.


The Mid Wales League (South) will be back up and running next season after a positive Annual Meeting held at The Severn Arms Penybont last Monday night. The league did not run last season after just five teams competed in the 2022-23 season. Another meeting will be held early in July and any teams wishing to enter a side should contact secretary, Alan Randell.    

There was a good attendance at the meeting all with the desire to see local football return to Mid and South Powys.  


Tommy Rowlands picked up both manager, Jason Samuel’s Player of the Year and top goalscorer award when Builth Wells FC held their end of season awards. Rowlands was on fire for The Bulls who finished fourth in the Ardal League North East, and was also the Reserve team topscorer despite playing only a handful of games. 

Alex Hicks, who just got better and better as the season progressed, was first team Players Player of the Year and defender, Lee James, another to enjoy an outstanding season was Supporters Player of The Year.

Aled Powell was Supporters Player of the Year in The Reserves while towering defender, Gavin Samuel picked up manager, Rob Saunders’ award.


Radnor Valley have announced the signing of Elliot Williams from local rivals, Kington Town. The versatile Williams is no stranger to the club having played when The Goats won the Radnorshire Cup for the first time in their history in the 2017-2018 season. He has also represented Llandrindod Wells and Newbridge.

Meanwhile Ardal League newcomers, Kerry have signed former JD Cymru Premier star, Neil Mitchell from Caersws. Elliot Jones and Ryan Biggs have also joined from Llanidloes Town.

Elsewhere in Mid Wales, JD Cymru North side, Caersws have announced the arrival of former Kerry and Llanfair United forward, Max McLaughlin from Chirk AAA.

Guilsfield are looking for a new manager following the shock departure of Nathan Leonard while Penparcau and Machynlleth, top two in the MMP Central Wales League (South) last season, have new men in charge. Prolific marksman, Mattie Davies takes over at Penparcau while Daniel Roberts is Machynlleth’s new manager. Penrhyncoch Reserves look set to play in the league this season and have appointed Dylan James as joint manager with Carwyn Jenkins.


Newtown defender, Ryan Sears has been named in the JD Cymru Premier League Team of the Season. Not surprisingly there are four players from League Champions, The New Saints namely Danny Davies, Leo Smith, Danny Redmond and Brad Young. Sion Bradley, of Carnarfon Town is named along with team mate, Danny Gossett with Ben Nash and Jordan Davies of Connahs Quay Nomads also make the line-up. Completing the eleven are Kelland Absalom (Bala Town) and Rhys Abbruzzese (Haverfordwest). 

Sion Bradley was named the JD Cymru Premier Player of the Season in what was his last season for Caernarfon Town before his move to The New Saints.