THE week long tournament got off to a great start last weekend with some fine weather and fine bowling.

There are 20 teams divided into two sections with the teams playing knock out sessions on Saturday and the top two teams in each section going on to play in the semi-finals on Sunday morning. The winers of these went on to play the final on Sunday afternoon.

After a very close finish, in which Ken Price and his team went ahead, they were pulled back by Luke Harwood’s team who continued the battle to the very last end of the 18 allowed.

Ken Price, president of the Llandrindod Wells Bowling Club and Hughie Lamas and Dickie Banks of Vines Park Bowling Club were the victors and the holders of the Francis Drake Trophy for 2016.

It was noted that the winners have a total of 115 years experience of bowling between them and it showed when the pressure was on. The runners up were Luke Harwood from Llandrindod Wells, Mike Rickets from Ledbury, and Nick Evans from Berriew.

The Tournament continues throughout the week finishing on Friday with the presentations to the finalists in the remaining six events.