Coveted award for young filmmaker

Sunday 24th July 2022 6:00 am
Eden with Barbara Broccoli Samuel Adewunmi
Eden (centre) with Barbara Broccoli Samuel Adewunmi (Into Film Awads )

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

A young filmmaker from Crickhowell has won a coveted prize at a national film awards.

Eden Quine-Taylor has won the ‘One to Watch’ award at the Into Film Awards 2022.

Dubbed the ‘Young People’s Oscars’ the Into Film Awards were held at a star-studded ceremony in London recently, which was hosted by broadcaster and comedian Sue Perkins.

The awards mark more success for 18-year-old Eden, who previously won ‘Best Film’ in 2020.

Following the award, Eden will receive industry mentoring and an additional prize of £1000.

“It’s thrilling to have won the ‘Ones to Watch’ category at the Into Film Awards,” said Eden.

“I hope to see myself in the future with a film production company and creating feature films that all audiences can resonate with. I hope that in the future I’d be able to take on the role of director and director of photography on self-written scripts, screenplays, and adaptations from novels, as well as being heavily involved in the process of editing.

“Thank you Into Film for the opportunity and I can’t wait to get started with the mentoring.”

Minister for Education and Welsh Language, Jeremy Miles said: “I am thrilled that Eden has been recognised by these national awards.

“Supporting and developing the talent of our young learners is a key priority for us, and I hope this gives her much impetus to continue making films and growing her skills in this area.”

Non Stevens, Head of Into Film Cymru, said: “Congratulations to Eden as well. She’s already a fantastic filmmaker and is destined for even greater things. Again, she follows in the footsteps of another Welsh winner, Hedydd Ioan, who was there today in London as a former ‘Ones to Watch’ award winner.

Creative Wales and BAFTA Cymru need to remember the name Eden Quine-Taylor, because she’s here for the long haul.”

From incredible Into Film Clubs, educators and young review writers to a host of remarkable films submitted across six filmmaking categories, the Into Film Awards celebrates the best the UK has to offer in filmmaking and the use of film in education.

The Into Film Awards are made possible with support from the film industry through sponsorship and supported by the BFI using National Lottery funding, thanks to National Lottery players and the UK film industry through Cinema First. The National Lottery raises £36 million each week for good causes across the UK.

The 2022 ceremony featured celebrity presenters including Lashana Lynch, Eddie Redmayne, Morfydd Clark, Tom Ellis, Joanne Froggatt, Stacey Dooley, Michael Ajao, Anson Boon, Emma Appleton, Ben Shires, Sebastian Croft, Sheyi Cole, Thaddea Graham, Lola Petticrew, and Samuel Adewunmi.

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0