Radnor Valley were crowned champions of the MMP with Norman Lloyd Central Wales League (South) on Bank Holiday Monday, following a 4-2 victory over Tregaron Turfs in front of a bumper crowd at The Bypass.

Radnor Valley champions 2023
Radnor Valley captain Will Fowden receives the league trophy from Central Wales League president Paul Worts (Barcud-Coch Photography)

Any nerves the hosts had were to be settled with a brace of goals inside the first 13 minutes of the match. Summer signing James Lewis was on hand to turn the ball home from close range in the 10th minute before talisman Joey Price doubled the advantage three minutes later as he stretched to poke the ball past Sam Jones in the Turfs’ goal.

Despite the positive start for the champions-elect, the visitors were provided with a way back into the match on the half-hour mark, when Jac Hockenhull took advantage of some indecision in the Radnor Valley defence, before breaking free on goal to slide the ball past the advancing Will Fowden.

Radnor Valley continued to press for a third goal before the interval but were unable to find the back of the net.

Any nerves amongst the Goats’ players and supporters were eased after 50 minutes when defender Josh Traylor-Hall was on hand to head home a Joey Price free-kick at the far post.

Radnor Valley champions 2023
Radnor Valley defender Josh Traylor-Hall headed home a Joey Price free-kick during the second half (Barcud-Coch Photographry)

Despite missing a handful of opportunities, the hosts increased their lead on 63 minutes when substitute Taylor Wozencraft drove towards the Tregaron Turfs penalty area, before unleashing a powerful drive that Jones was unable to keep out.

The Ceredigion outfit pulled a goal back in the 78th minute after Melvyn Davies’ low 25-yard shot took a wicked deflection off Tim Office and wrong-footed Fowden in the home goal.

The visitors pushed for a goal to try and make it an uncomofrtable conclusion but but it was the Radnor Valley captain who collected the championship trophy from Central Wales League president Paul Worts following the final whistle to commence the celebrations.